Developing one’s will


Last weekend, my family and I competed in the Manila Open and I won a silver medal in my division. It is representative of how far I’ve gone and also how much more I should work on my game.

The thing is, I’m not only working on my game by training, I’m also continuing with the modified IF diet that I’m on, called the Warrior Diet, and adding more moves that will help me with my existing game. It’s not so much, hey what new move can I add, but, hey what move would have helped in the last competition if only I had mastered it earlier?

The good thing is I have the answer, which is what I’ve been drilling last week. I feel that the momentum of my work, from October to today, is only building, and it can be seen by a marked improvement in my game. I know that my team mates can see it too, and I feel great that the hard work is making a dent on my game.

I feel like my mind is a general and that every time I master a move it becomes an additional unit, like an army or cavalry or even some tanks. There are the basic moves, which are your foot soldiers, and the fancier moves that up your game, your elite corps of soldiers, if you will.

A friend of mine tells me that when I roll, I place my fingers in a thinking position, and that I look like some Kung Fu master. That’s funny because a lot of jiujitsu is about the choices you make in your mind.

Once you start willing conscious choices in your game, rather than flailing about in desperation, you start learning how to control and determine your fate. I know. It’s just a game. But it’s a game that helps you develop your will, strengthens your resolve, and transforms disciplined thought into disciplined action.


Leave a comment